Reminder: one of the major projects initiated by Fondation FondaMental Suisse consists in building a shared biobank and a common clinical database: this will make it possible to identify biomarkers (genetic, epigenetic, endocrine, inflammatory, cognitive, etc.) associated with bipolar disorders, then with OCDhyperactivityborderline personality disordersdepression

Since the last “Interim Report”, Swiss researchers have continued to acquire clinical and biological data from bipolar patients recruited from the University Hospital of Geneva (HUG). At this point, this part of the biobank is composed of biological samples, as well as clinical data from more than 200 patients, and covers a spectrum of pathologies often associated with bipolar disorder, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder or borderline personality disorder. It has also been enriched with data from magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and electroencephalogram (EEG). In addition, this biobank has data from nearly 100 control subjects that can be compared with data from patients with bipolar and related disorders.
On the scientific level, new interactions have been developed between French and Swiss research groups, particularly in the field of brain neuroimaging. The EEG data of bipolar patients and bipolar risk subjects have been investigated, a study in a editorial policy journal with mention of the Foundation’s support has been accepted for publication. Berchio et al. Eye-gaze processing in the broader bipolar spectrum revealed by electrical neuroimaging: Psychiatry Research Neuroimaging 2019.

Rappel : un des grands projets initié par la Fondation FondaMental Suisse consiste à construire une biobanque partagée et une base de données cliniques commune : cela permettra d’identifier des biomarqueurs (génétiques, épigénétiques, endocriniens, inflammatoires, cognitifs, etc.) associés aux troubles bipolaires, puis aux TOC, à l’hyperactivité, aux troubles de la personnalité borderline, à la dépression.
Depuis le dernier ‘Point Science’, les chercheurs Suisses ont poursuivi l’acquisition de données cliniques et biologiques provenant de patients bipolaires recrutés au sein des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève (HUG). Pour l’heure, cette partie de la biobanque est composée d’échantillons biologiques, ainsi que de données cliniques provenant de plus de 200 patients et couvre un spectre de pathologies souvent associées au trouble bipolaire, telles que le trouble du déficit d’attention/hyperactivité, ou encore celui de la personnalité borderline. Elle a également pu être enrichie avec des données provenant d’imagerie par résonance magnétiques (IRM), ainsi que par l’électroencéphalogramme (EEG). De plus, cette biobanque possède des données de près de 100 sujets contrôles pouvant être comparées aux données de patients souffrant du trouble bipolaire et des pathologies associées.
Sur le plan scientifique, de nouvelles interactions ont été développées entre les groupes de chercheurs Français et Suisses, notamment dans le domaine de la neuro-imagerie cérébrale. Les données EEG de patients bipolaires et sujets à risque bipolaires ont pu être analysées, une étude dans un journal à politique éditoriale avec la mention du soutien de la Fondation a été acceptée pour publication (Berchio et al. Eye-gaze processing in the broader bipolar spectrum revealed by electrical neuroimaging: Psychiatry Research Neuroimaging 2019).