One of the major projects initiated by FFS consists of building a shared biobank and a common clinical database: this will make it possible to identify biomarkers (genetic, epigenetic, endocrine, inflammatory, cognitive, etc.) associated with bipolar disorders, OCD, hyperactivity, borderline disorders, depression…

Biological samples from patients with reported diseases are grouped and analysed for research purposes. By sharing databases these are compared with data from subjects at risk and control groups.

The implementation of this biobank is complex, first of all it is necessary to bring the material together, obtain institutional and ethics committee authorisations and above all to ensure that the anonymisation of patient data is fully respected, thus ensuring full data security.

 

Development work takes place in several stages in order to first of all create the infrastructure that “hosts” the shared databases. Ultimately, it is a matter of setting up computerised records, centralising biological samples (DNA, RNA, serum, plasma, microbiota) in a common biobank from which they are processed and analysed. Another step is to fund the human resource requirements, tools and scientific equipment needed for sometimes very complex analyses of biological data from patients with reported disease, at-risk individuals and control groups.

Now, almost 2 years after the initiation of this project, the common database and shared biobanks are in place and functional. The correlation of the many clinical variables has been completed, which means that all the data collected on both sides are now’easily’ comparable. The competent authorities have recently validated the ethical protocol, which is an essential point because the security of medical data is once again, and rightly so, an extremely sensitive point. The next step, and this is the major objective for 2018, is to identify the patients for recruitment with bipolar disorder to participate in the study, in order to continue to enrich the biobanks and the database. The results of this initiative represent a potential for remarkable progress that is highly anticipated by the international scientific community.

Un des grands projets initié par la Fondation FondaMental Suisse consiste à construire une biobanque partagée et une base de données cliniques commune : cela permettra d’identifier des biomarqueurs (génétiques, épigénétiques, endocriniens, inflammatoires, cognitifs, etc.) associés aux troubles bipolaires, aux TOC, à l’hyperactivité, aux troubles borderline, à la dépression…

Les échantillons biologiques de patients avec des maladies déclarées sont regroupés et analysés, comparés avec les données de sujets à risques et de groupes témoins, en mutualisant les bases de données au service de la recherche.

La mise en place de cette biobanque est assez complexe, il faut tout d’abord harmoniser les matériels, obtenir les autorisations institutionnelles et des comités d’éthique et surtout il faut veiller à ce que l’anonymisation des données des patients soit totalement respectée, donc sécuriser absolument tous les processus.

L’élaboration se déroule en plusieurs étapes afin tout d’abord de créer les infrastructures qui ‘accueillent’ les bases de données partagées. A terme il s’agit de mettre en place des dossiers informatisés, de centraliser les échantillons biologiques (ADN, ARN, sérum, plasma, microbiote) dans une biobanque commune à partir de laquelle ils sont traités et analysés. Une autre étape consiste à financer les besoins en ressources humaines, les outils et le matériel scientifique nécessaires pour des analyses parfois très complexes des données biologiques issues de patients dont la maladie est déclarée, de sujets à risque et de groupes témoins.

Aujourd’hui, bientôt 2 ans après l’initiation de ce projet, la base de données commune et les biobanques partagées sont en place et fonctionnelles. Le couplage des nombreuses variables cliniques est terminé, ce qui implique que toutes les données recueillies de part et d’autre sont désormais comparables ‘facilement’. Les autorités compétentes ont récemment validé le protocole éthique, c’est un point essentiel car la sécurisation des données médicales est encore une fois, et à juste titre, un point extrêmement sensible. L’étape suivante et c’est l’objectif majeur pour 2018, consiste à identifier le recrutement des patients atteints de troubles bipolaires participant à l’étude, afin de continuer à enrichir les biobanques et la base de données. Les résultats de cette initiative représentent un potentiel de progrès remarquables et très attendus par le monde scientifique international.